July 10, 2019, Best of Braddock Awards and BDC Picnic

posted Jun 19, 2019, 12:14 PM by Cathy Gruber   [ updated Oct 25, 2019, 5:46 AM ]

On Wednesday, July 10, the Braddock District Council will be hosting their annual Best of Braddock Awards and Braddock District Council Picnic. 

Each year, the BDC and the Braddock District Supervisor’s office join efforts in recognizing those in the Braddock District who contribute to making our community a better place to live and work, while also sharing a meal provided by the BDC. The event takes place at the Braddock District Supervisor’s office, 9002 Burke Lake Road. The picnic is from 6:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. and the recognition ceremony begins at 7:00 p.m.

Best of Braddock Award Winners 2019

Young Persons of the Year - Students from the North Springfield Community

Elizabeth Porter, Anna Balbuena, Ella McGinty, Evyn Vanbrunt, Megan Brown, Liam McGinty, Katie Pope, and James Kendall

Organization Making a Difference in the Braddock District

The Shepherd's Center of Fairfax-Burke

Neighborhood Enhancement or Beautification - Individual

John "Craig" Willet, Burke Centre Conservancy

Neighborhood Enhancement or Beautification - Community Association

Melissa and Jarrett Stark, Hickory Farms Community Association

Outstanding Individuals

Steven Shapiro, Burke Centre Conservancy
John Firsching, Olde Forge/Surrey Square Civic Association
Todd Skipper, Little Run Citizens' Association
Michael O'Dell

Braddock District Citizen of the Year

Joan Bishop, Olde Forge/Surrey Square Civic Association